Quicksand

Quicksand A daring brilliant new novel from Man Booker Prize finalist Steve Toltz for fans of Dave Eggers Martin Amis and David Foster Wallace a fearlessly funny outrageously inventive dark comedy about tw

  • Title: Quicksand
  • Author: Steve Toltz
  • ISBN: 1473606055
  • Page: 431
  • Format: Hardcover
  • A daring, brilliant new novel from Man Booker Prize finalist Steve Toltz, for fans of Dave Eggers, Martin Amis, and David Foster Wallace a fearlessly funny, outrageously inventive dark comedy about two lifelong friends.Liam is a struggling writer and a failing cop Aldo, his best friend and muse, is a haplessly criminal entrepreneur with an uncanny knack for disaster AsA daring, brilliant new novel from Man Booker Prize finalist Steve Toltz, for fans of Dave Eggers, Martin Amis, and David Foster Wallace a fearlessly funny, outrageously inventive dark comedy about two lifelong friends.Liam is a struggling writer and a failing cop Aldo, his best friend and muse, is a haplessly criminal entrepreneur with an uncanny knack for disaster As Aldo s luck worsens, Liam is inspired to base his next book on his best friend s exponential misfortunes and hopeless quest to win back his one great love his ex wife, Stella What begins as an attempt to make sense of Aldo s mishaps spirals into a profound story of faith and friendship.With the same originality and buoyancy that catapulted his first novel, A Fraction of the Whole, onto prize lists around the world including shortlists for the Man Booker Prize and the Guardian First Book Award Steve Toltz has created a rousing, hysterically funny but unapologetically dark satire about fate, faith, friendship, and the artist s obligation to his muse Sharp, witty, kinetic, and utterly engrossing, Quicksand is a subversive portrait of twenty first century society in all its hypocrisy and absurdity.

    • Unlimited [Psychology Book] ↠ Quicksand - by Steve Toltz ✓
      431 Steve Toltz
    • thumbnail Title: Unlimited [Psychology Book] ↠ Quicksand - by Steve Toltz ✓
      Posted by:Steve Toltz
      Published :2018-05-15T17:01:49+00:00

    1 thought on “Quicksand”

    1. تا حد امکان بدون اسپویلر. در اشاراتی هم که به حوادث داستان کردم، از مقدمه‌ی مترجم فراتر نرفتماگر جز از کل را روایت رنج انسان در جدال با مرگ بدانیم، ریگ روان در نقطه‌ی مقابل قرار دارد: رنج حادث شده در جدال با زندگی. داستان، روایت ماجراهای فردی به‌نام آلدو بنجامین از زبان دوستش [...]

    2. دوست داشتم میشد مثلا ۴.۵ بدم بهش البته کتاب پر از پرگویی‌هایی است که در زبان و فرهنگ ما بی‌ربط و نامفهومند. ولی به دلایل شخصی خیلی ارتباط برقرار کردم با آلدو و از شخصیت پردازی تولتز در مورد این کاراکتر خیلی خوشم اومد به خاطر شرایطم، حسهای یک فرد ویلچری نسبتا دقیق توصیف شده بود. [...]

    3. 7 years after the publication of one of my most beloved novels of all time 'A fraction of the whole' Steve Toltz comes with a follow-up. He definitely hasn't lost his sense of humour. He is still the king of wit, puns & oneliners. He still has more crazy thoughts than some 10000 people combined. The guy is a one person think tank!Because of the absurdity of his ideas and characters he doesn't really seem to care a lot about story & plot. I feel that he tries to give himself as much 'assi [...]

    4. Toltz’s first accompanied me on a trip to the Orkney isles, and set the tone for a tempestuous time of bickering and freeloading in a bleak treeless landscape. Toltz’s second was read in a warm comfortable flat with no tantalising backdrop of bleakness and simmering dissent. Nevertheless, I was once more taken on a blistering blackly comedic trip to the darkest recesses of existence, at the core of which sits Toltz, snickering like an imp at the horrors and pratfalls of the human race, often [...]

    5. خیلی واقعی تر و تلخ تر از جزء از کلباورم نمیشه باهاش گریه کردم، حسابی ترسیدم و چندشم شداز اینهمه واقعیت تلخی که تو دنیامون داره اتفاق میفته.تولتز محشره.بی صبرانه منتظر کتاب بعدیشم.

    6. 3.5 ستاره"قانون تخطی ناپذیر همیشه همین بوده، وقتی به آرزویت میرسی که دیگر خیلی دیر شده."به نظر تولتز در خلق بدبختی ها و پرورششون استعداد خیلی خوبی داره و پیمان خاکسار هم خیلی خوب میتونه اون ها رو به ما انتقال بده!ساختار و تم شخصیت اصلی ریگ روان مثل جز از کلهآلدو، ی مارتین جامعه گر [...]

    7. باید بگم حتی پرگویی هاشم دوست دارم، یجور نبوغ خاصی تو نوشته هاش هست، حتی به یه مساله ساده که شاید جزو بدیهیات زندگی ما باشه از یه دید خاصی نگاه میکنه که آدمو انگشت به دهن میزاره. این رمانش نسبت به جزء از کل یه کم و کاستی هایی داشت قبول دارم حتی خوانش و فهم بعضی جاهاشم سخت تر و گنگ [...]

    8. مردی از ابدیت زاده می شود او که نمی‌میرد. و عاشق مُردن است به یک دلیل: نفرت از حیات. و آن نیز به یک دلیل: ترس.در کتاب های استیومردان، فیلسوف اند و حرّاف؛ قهرمان نیستند و ترس را میشناسندو زنان زنانشان، همیشه حامی، همیشه عاشق همیشه منتظرو فکر می کنم به ترساین عنصر متعفّنِ تعفن‌ب [...]

    9. بعد از تبلیغات فراوان نشر چشمه برای جدیدترین اثر ترجمه شده از تولتز و بعد از لذت فراوان از خواندن جز از کل قبل از عید اینترنتی سفارشش دادم ولی متاسفانه خیلی جذیم نکرد و با اکراه الان تمامش کردم. در کل لذتی که از جز از کل بردم را ذره ای از ریگ روان نبردم.

    10. ترس از مرگ و حالا ترس از زندگیاستیو تولتز حرفی برای گفتن باقی نمی گذاره همینطور پیمان خاکسار برای انتخاب کتاب هاش برای ترجمه.نیمه ی خالی و نیمه ی پر لیوان بررسی شد!هر روز که زنده بیدار می شوی فاتحی؛ برو و غنایمت را طلب کن.بخونید!//

    11. خواندن ریگ روان نسبت به جزء از کل شاید یکم سخت تر باشه چون ذهن رو خیلی درگیر بعضی مسائل و سوال های بنیادین و فلسفی میکنه (هر چند جزء از کل هم همین روند رو داشت ولی به یک شیوه ی دیگه) که شاید هزاران بار هم برای خود آدم هم پیش بیاد درگیر کنه اما تفاوتش شیوه درگیر کردن خواننده در داست [...]

    12. طرز نگاه استیو تولتز خیلی برام جالبه به نظرم معمولی ترین چیزها رو متفاوت مینویسه و شخصیت هایی که خلق میکنه به یاد موندنی هستنبا اینکه بعضی قسمت ها واقعا داستان خسته کننده میشه و جذابیت نداره ولی خوندنش تجربه لذت بخشیه

    13. Reads like it was written by a brilliant author, the night before it was due. Some extremely strong sentences, fabulous observations, and many witty one liners that slap you in the face with their sharpness. But as a novel – as a 368 page complete “piece" – it’s mostly a band-aided collection of waffle, with little plot, coherence, and even less editing. I feel like I’m writing a school report : “Toltz could do great things, if he would concentrate on his work, complete his homework, [...]

    14. Steve Toltz is certainly an original and inventive writer. He sets up a frenetic pace from the very beginning and never lets up on it through a madcap series of adventures of two larger-than-life characters. The plot, such as it is, follows the life-long friendship between Liam, a struggling writer and police officer, and Aldo, hapless, charismatic, accident-prone and perennially unlucky. Toltz concentrates on the dynamic between the two, as increasingly Liam uses Aldo as his muse in his attempt [...]

    15. _ما هنر تولید می کنیم چون زنده بودن یعنی گروگان گرفته شدن به دست گروگان‌گیرهایی ساکت که حتا نمی توانیم خواسته هایشان را به قوه ی شهود درک کنیم. _هر روز که زنده بیدار می شوی فاتحی؛ برو و غنایمت را طلب کن. _خوب بود خوندن ریگ روان بعد از اتمام جزء از کل. کتاب اوایل سخت شروع میشه، مثل [...]

    16. خیلی خیلی خیلی زیبا و خیلی خیلی خیلی تلخ! بخصوص 40 صفحه ی آخر!

    17. I love Steve Toltz and couldn't believe he had finally written another novel. He is dark and disturbing in the way life is, where he keeps you laughing through the rotteness and horrors his characters deal with, kind of like the universe does in our own existence. If you don't laugh, you spoil. Reading him makes me feel like I am sitting in a pub listening to a brilliant friend enlightening and depressing me all at once. It is a strangely intense experience reading his musings, because the story [...]

    18. '' بدترین چیز دنیا به هیچ عنوان رنج کشیدن یا تنهایی نیست. یک ترکیب است: تنهایی رنج کشیدن ''

    19. couldn't finish it. got to 75% but decided life is too short and started to skim through the rest. even that was torture.

    20. هر روز که زنده بیدار می شوی فاتحی ؛ برو و غنایمت را طلب کن.

    21. دایتان این قدر کش اومده و حاشیه داره که اصلا آخرش آدم یادش میره درباره چی بود. قلم روان و ترجمه خوب و شوخی‌های بانمک زیاد داشت. ولی چیزی که کم داشت خط سیر داستانی، شروع و پایان مناسب و هدف بود.

    22. This is a belter of a book. It's that very rare thing - a book that's described as funny that actually made me laugh. More than once. Out loud.Incidentally, have you ever wondered why funny books don't win prizes? It's because we can all identify with tragedy, but humour is extremely subjective. Something that reduces you to a quivering giggling heap can leave me cold as a penguin eating a Cornetto. Plus by its very definition, it isn't serious whereas in some circles, the more miserable somethi [...]

    23. در مورد استیو تولتز در رمان جزء از کلش گفته‌ام. نویسنده‌ای که بسیار حرف برای گفتن دارد و قصه‌گوی فوق‌العاده‌ای است. نقطه‌ی قوت تولتز در شخصیت‌پردازیست. باید بگویم او در خلق شخصیت یک نابغه است. هرگز مارتین جزء از کل و آلدو بنجامین ریگ روان را فراموش نمی‌کنم.در ریگ روان تولت [...]

    24. نویسندگی پر رمز و راز ترین کار دنیاست از نظر من. غواصی در درونی‌ترین لایه‌های خود، بیرون کشیدن و واژه کردنشون به شکلی که بتونه دیگریِ جدا از دنیای نویسنده رو هم تحت تاثیر قرار بده، آنقدر بی‌اصلوبه که برای منِ درگیر فلوچارت و درگیر اگر آ آنگاه ب همیشه جذاب بوده. و البته خطرناک. [...]

    25. Steve Toltz is a stand-up comedian stuck in a literary novelist's body. His brilliant first novel was 600 pages of non-stop one liners and observational humor, written as if Toltz was desperately emptying his body of jokes before he died without telling them. Toltz doesn't really do deep characters -- they're more vehicles for his own routine. If you think he's funny (which I very much do), it's brilliant. If you don't, it can be exhausting, although Toltz certainly has the literary chops to kee [...]

    26. Somewhere towards the end of this book, Liam, its principal narrator, an aspiring author, confesses to being totally bored by "plot". It's tempting to think of it as a fourth wall breaking moment with Steve Toltz offering a "sorry, not sorry" explanation for the random, rambling nature of the book, at a point that you are almost done with it. At its core, Quicksand is about a couple of friends Aldo Benjamin and Liam, as they fumble and fail through life, moving through an ever escalating scale o [...]

    27. چهار روزه که خواندن ریگ روان را شروع کردم و خوشحالم که سال جدید را با این کتاب آغاز کردم. آروم آروم و خودکار به دست پیش می رم. و هر چه جلوتر می رم از داستان بی نظیر و ترجمه روانش بیشتر لذت می برم. و البته سبکی فوق العاده کتاب به خاطر جنس کاغذش.ریگ روان داستان دو دوست قدیمی است، یکی [...]

    28. يك رمان حجيم ديگر از استيو تولتز نويسنده اهل استراليا، كه او را با رمان "جز از كل" مي شناسيم. در اين اثر بار ديگر با قهرماني با افكار و دنياي خاص خود روبرو هستيم كه به گفته نويسنده به " استيطال باليني" دچار است، كسي كه حس بوكسوري را دارد كه دستانش را با چسب به پهلويش چسبانده اند و ه [...]

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *